My Research

Talking History

Every Friday the fine folks over at 49th Shelf post a new article as part of their Talking History series. Sometimes it’s about a new book in the field, sometimes it’s a personal story, and sometimes it’s an examination of a major issue. A couple of months ago, they approached me about the possibility of doing something related to my research on the CBC. I tried to answer the question of why we have a public broadcaster. It’s not a simple answer and there were plenty of factors that led to the decision to establish the CBC in the fall of 1936 and I explore them in further detail in the post, which can be found here.

My thanks to Kerry Clare and 49th Shelf for having me as part of the series.

Leave a Reply

